Apricot Freezer Jam

The great thing about freezer Jam is that you do not have to stand over a hot stove continually stiring or put the bottles into a canner.

Freezer jam is as easy as it gets.

Yes it takes time, but if you have a great friend to do it with then you can have a fantastic time.

This was also the first time my friend Alicia had ever made jam, so this was a great place to start learning.

The first thing we did was seperate our apricots.  The ones that looked good we put into a strainer to rinse.  The ones that may of had some blemishes, not quite ripe enough or tough skin we put in the steam juicer.

Thank you to my neighbor G for loaning me her steam juicer.  This thing is so easy and it is a great way to use the apricots that have some issues.  The water in the bottom boiles and steams the fruit in the top.  The fruit opens its pores from the steam and drops juice into the middle where the spigot comes out.  You let it sit there for around an hour while you do other things in the kitchen.  I did sprinkle a cup of sugar over the apricots to add some sweetness.

You then squeeze the clamp on the spigot and fill your jars.  We got three jars per batch and we did 2 batches.  It also makes the house smell great, like summer.  I like to mix a jar with a bottle of Sprite for a refreshing beverage.  My neighbor says she mixes it with her OJ to make it last longer, that is a great idea too!

While the apricots were steaming we got to work on the jam.  I referenced this post to help us along.

-washed the apricots -pitted the apricots – smashed the apricots with potato smasher (is that the real name of that thing?)

-We each got a bowl and combined these ingredients

*3 cups of smashed apricots

*4 cups of sugar

*1 cup of corn syrup (I heard it keeps the jam from crystalizing in the freezer)

*2 T of lemon juice

* We then added the box of Pectin and stirred on and off for 30 min.

Then into the jars.


It was a successful morning of jam and nectar.  Thank you Alicia for being my partner and conversation buddy!

If you are interested in the labels I used, go here.

8 thoughts on “Apricot Freezer Jam

  1. Seems easy enough. I would rather it be peaches…but heck if I had a cute apron in my size and purple I would cook just about anything…..
    Anyway, thought I would share this recipe…given your post:
    1 8 oz bottle russian dressing
    1 c apricot jam
    1 pkg lipton onion soup mix
    1 pkg of chicken breast
    Mix the first 3 until well combined. Place chicken in baking dish, pour mixture over chicken and bake at 350 for an hour. Sounds gross I know, but it is actually pretty tasty. Serve with a side of veggies and over mashed taters or rice…..

    • Dara, you should start your own cooking blog! Also I did make that apron and I think I still have the pattern, when is your birthday? 🙂 And that recipe sounds great a lot like one that I make with a can of cranberries, bottle of Catalina salad dressing and Lipton onion soup mix. I will have to try yours. Fantastic. Also, I am going to keep my eyes out for affordable peaches to can because I am down to my last bottle from last year.

  2. Wow – that looks yummy!!! I had not heard about the corn syrup preventing crystalizing. That is great to know!! I love to make strawberry freezer jam and may try adding it.

Leave a Comment

