Live For Pink

About a month ago I saw a post on DownEast Basics Facebook page (They are a fantastic clothes store that I love!):

Reminder– If you’ve been impacted by breast cancer, DownEast wants YOU. We’re looking for women to appear in a group photo wearing our limited edition pink tees and camis that we sell during our annual “Live for Pink” fundraising campaign in support of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Those of you who do not know me…no, I do not have breast cancer, my mom did. So I sent in my 150 word application:

“She was not there at my high school graduation, when I married the man of my dreams, or after I bore my son. Unfortunately my mother was taken from me when I was a couple weeks shy of turning 13. She died at the young age of 53 after an extensive battle with breast cancer. Although it was 13 short years with my mother, I will always have her in my heart and remember the years that I was fortunate enough to call her mom. Although I do not have her here with me physically her legacy will live on. Her strength through a 5 year battle with cancer, her love for children as an elementary school teacher for 20 years, her patience with raising 6 children of her own. Sixteen years since her passing I still think of my mother every day. She is and always will be a part of me and has taught me to be stronger, show more love and to be extra patient. Thanks mom for the lessons you taught me. I look forward to many more years and lessons from you in heaven.”

I was chosen with 11 other fantastic ladies. I had the opportunity to spend the morning feeling like a super model. Clothes, make-up, hair, photos and lots of new friends.

They told us that out photo will be posted in their 50+ stores and in the September and October catalog that it send out to over 75,000 homes. It was a great experience that I will never forget, plus I got to keep the cute pink shirt!

Thank you DownEast!

Leave a Comment

