Craft Fail? Blue Mason Jars

I hesitated sharing this project with you because I am not sure I loved how it turned out in the end.  But maybe you can learn from my mistakes and use some of the information I give you.

I had seen many tutorials online about creating your own antique blue tinted mason jars, so I thought I would try and make my own for more organization in my office.

I bought some glass paint at my local craft store.  (With a 50% off coupon it was only a couple dollars.) I then painted some mason jars that I had lying around.  At first the paint was too thick and I was not achieving the opaque look I was going for.  So I added some water to the paint and the brush and gave it a more tinted look, instead of the painted affect.

The paint bottle then says to put the glass in the oven, on your lowest setting for 30 minutes or so.  This supposedly sets the paint color.  While they were in the oven I spray painted the rings black.  There are not many things I like that are gold.  I do have a pair of gold sandals and one gold necklace and earrings to go with my sandals when I wear them.  But, other than that not much gold around here.

The jars turned out pretty well.  The paint did pool in a couple places and it looks like dry drops of paint in other spots instead of the blue tint I was going for.  But hey only a few dollars for something that is going for $25.00 on ebay.

I then took them down to my office to adhere them under the shelf for more storage.  I have quickly realized that hot glue is not as permanent as I thought it would be.  One jar has already fallen down, but it did not break.

I quickly found some crafting supplies to fill the jars and voila, More organization for the office!

4 thoughts on “Craft Fail? Blue Mason Jars

    • Thank you Leanne. I have not fixed the problem of the glue yet, but I was thinking that if I put the circle lid part in the band and nail it up underneath to the shelf (with a short nail of course) that way it would be permanent. Let me know if you come up with a better idea.

Leave a Comment

